Empowering Momentum Ways to Give Give Online Giving Stories Our Supporters Ways to Give Contact

Text Size

Board of Overseers

Created in 1973, the Rutgers University Foundation enhances Rutgers' mission of excellence in education, research, and public service. It has raised more than $1 billion over the last three decades. 

The Foundation is governed by a Board of Overseers, which consists of a maximum of 65 members, 16 of whom must be members of the university's Boards of Governors and Trustees or ex officio members. 

The Rutgers University Foundation is a New Jersey corporation established under Section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code for educational and charitable purposes. Gifts made through the Foundation are deductible for federal income, gift, and estate tax purposes to the extent allowed by the law.

Board Officers

Arthur Certosimo, Chair

Gary M. Rodkin, Vice Chair

Philip Scalo, Vice Chair

Nevin E. Kessler, President

J. Michael Gower,Treasurer

Christopher P. Zraly, Associate Treasurer

Duncan L. MacMillan, Secretary

Susan Catania, Assistant Secretary

Board Members

Atiya Aftab, RC’88, NLAW’91

Beverly Aisenbrey, DC’75, RBSG’82

Robert L. Barchi, Ex officio

Subha Barry, Friend

William E. Best, Ex officio

Terry S. Bienstock, CLAW’78

Bruce Bingham, RC’68

Steven B. Boehm, RC’75, NLAW’78

Wendy Cai-Lee, DC’96

Arthur Certosimo, RC’77

Charles Chang, GSNB’75

Chuck Chaplin, RC’78

Peter D. Cherasia, ENG’84

Alan M. Crosta, Jr., RC’86, NJMS’90

Steven M. Darien, RC’63

Daniel DiFilippo, NCAS’83

James Dougherty, RC’74, GSNB’75

Harriett Druskin, Friend

Robert Falzon, RC’81

Christiana R. Foglio-Palmer, DC’84

Ronald Garutti, RC’67

Peter W. Gibson, Friend

Michael N. Goodkind, ENG’65

J. Michael Gower, Ex officio

Mark P. Hershhorn, RC’71 

Sharon E. Karmazin, DC’67, SCILS’69

Bruce P. Kerzic, RC’83

Nevin E. Kessler, Ex officio

Kenneth D. Lawrence, GSNB’74, GSED’79

Joseph H. Lempkin, Ex officio, RC’90

Duncan L. MacMillan, RC’66

James Maida, CLAW’90

Kevin D. McGrath, LC’88

Vaughn L. McKoy, LC’90, NLAW’93

Elizabeth J. McNeilly, RC’85

Joseph Moroney, ENG’94

Robert E. Mortensen, ED’63

Mary Papamarkou, DC’90

Mia Christine Park, RC’87

Brian D. Perkins, RC’76

Louise Perrin, RC’78

Paul Profeta, Friend

Susan Reale, DC’96, DC’03

Daniel Reinhardt, RC’91 

Gary M. Rodkin, RC’74

Philip Scalo, RC’75, NLAW’78

Sandy J. Stewart, Ex officio, CCAS’81, GSC’87

Steven H. Temares, RC’80

Marlene A. Tepper, RC’80

Amy Towers, Friend

Lucas J. Visconti, SEBS’82

Scott E. White, RC’95, RBSG’95

Timothy L.Whiteside, RC’83, RBSG’85

Dorian J. Wilson, NJMS’82

Ronald D. Wilson, RC’71 

Benjamin S. Wolfe, SB’59, RBSG’64 

Overseers Emeriti

Roger G. Ackerman, ENG’60, GSNB’62 

Shirley Aidekman-Kaye, Friend

Richard A. Alaimo, ENG’56

Michael J. Angelides, RC’82

Barbara M. Bauer, DC’46

Felix M. Beck, SB’49, RBSG’53 

Kevin J. Collins, NLAW’64 

Louis T. DiFazio, PHARM’59 

Scott Franzblau, LC’79

Albert R. Gamper, Jr., UCNWK’66

Ronald W. Giaconia, RC’58 

Alan Goldberg, ED’58 

Leslie Goodman, RC’65, RBSG’70, CLAW’80

Frederick E. Gruninger, ED’53, GSED’61

Keiko T. Harvey, ENG’72 

Richard W. Hill, RC’57 

Carleton A. Holstrom, GSNB’62 

Paul B. Jennings, RC’45

Gretchen W. Johnson, DC’63 

Herbert C. Klein, RC’51

Walter L. Leib, RC’51, NLAW’53

Allan Maitlin, RC’58 

Ernest Mario, PHARM’61

Thomas McKay III, RC’69

Bruce S. Nicholas, ENG’49 

Gene O'Hara, UCN’62 

Thomas A. Renyi, RC’67, RBSG’68

Nicholas G. Rutgers IV, RC’50

Philip S. Schein, RC’61

Leo B. Schoffer, RC’74

Richard H. Shindell, RC’57

David J. Stern, RC’63 

Anne M. Thomas, Friend

Bernice P. Venable, DC’62, GSNB’67, GSED’83

Thomas Werblin, RC’76 



  • © 2016 Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
  • All rights reserved
  • Rutgers University Foundation
  • Victory Plaza
  • 335 George St., Floor 2
  • New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1261
  • 848-932-7777